Thursday, August 14, 2008

Thursday night track...

For you hard-core track nuts out there, session 1 of the Olympic track & field competition begins at 6 pm Thursday in Seattle (9 am Friday in Beijing)!

As a follow up to an earlier post on who's competing Friday, here's who's competing in session 1, with times posted, both Beijing and Seattle (Seattle times in red).

Note that NBC or NBCOlympics.com will not air any track & field sessions live; if you have Comcast cable in the Seattle area, you can watch CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Company) on channel 99.

9:32 am (6:32 pm Thursday)—W Heptathlon day 1 100 hurdles (Diana Pickler): All three American heptathletes are in the same heat-heat 5.

10:30 am (7:30 pm Thursday)—W Heptathlon day 1 high jump (Diana Pickler): Pickler is in group B, which appears to have the better jumpers.

10:33 am (7:33 pm Thursday)—M 100 meter heats (Anson Henry): Henry is in heat 7, the same heat as Walter Dix of the USA. Top 3 plus 10 fastest advance to the quarterfinals Friday night.

11:10 am (8:10 pm Thursday)—W 800 meter heats (Haley Nemra): Nemra is in heat 2 with Alice Schmidt of the USA. Top 3 plus next 3 fastest advance to the semifinals.

Session 2 begins at 7 pm Beijing time (4 am in Seattle). The final event of the Friday night session-the women's 10000- is scheduled for 10:45 pm Beijing time (7:45 am in Seattle).

No comments:

Blog Archive