Tuesday, June 15, 2010

World championship medalist Bernard Lagat leads contingent of Washington athletes into Des Moines...

With only the late entry period of Friday June 18th remaining, 2009 world championship medalist Bernard Lagat leads a contingent of Washington affiliated athletes into next week's USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Des Moines, Iowa.

Lagst, who earned medals in the 1500 and 5000 at last year's world championships in Berlin, is entered in the 5000 meter run.

World championship team members Ryan Brown (800), Brad Walker (pole vault) Jarred Rome (discus), Ian Waltz (discus), Michael Mai (hammer), Ginnie Powell (100 hurdles), Aretha Thurmond (discus), and Kara Patterson (javelin) are also entered in the meet.

As he did last year, Walker (left/file photo by Paul Merca), the Washington grad who was the 2007 world champion in the pole vault will make his season debut at the USA Championships. Walker, the defending national champion from last year, couldn't defend his world title in Berlin after he injured himself in last year's Monaco Grand Prix.

With 2010 being a non-world championships/Olympic year, several notable athletes are not entered in the meet, including reigning national heptathlon champion and former WSU All-American Diana Pickler, NCAA indoor pole vault champ Scott Roth from the University of Washington, and Seattle Pacific's NCAA D2 1500m champ Jessica Pixler (note: the on-time entry deadline was Monday the 14th; athletes have up to Friday the 18th at 11:59 eastern time to enter; the final declaration period is from Sunday the 20th at 12:01 am eastern to Monday the 21st at 11:59 pm eastern).

Here's the list of athletes with Washington affiliations listed on the usatf.org site as having entered:


400m--Craig Everhart (open)

800m--Ryan Brown

5000m--Bernard Lagat, Mike Sayenko (provisional), Jordan McNamara (open), Colton Tully-Doyle (open)

10000m--Mike Sayenko

400 hurdles--Jeshua Anderson

High jump--Trent Arrivey (provisional)

Pole vault--Brad Walker

Long jump--Norris Frederick

Discus--Jarred Rome, Will Conwell, Ian Waltz (open)

Hammer--Michael Mai, Jordan Stray (open)


100m--Ginnie Powell

800m--Anna Layman (provisional)

1500m--Katie Follett

10000m--Sarah Porter

100 hurdles--Ginnie Powell, Falesha Ankton (provisional)

3000 steeplechase--Mel Lawrence (provisional)

Discus--Aretha Thurmond

Javelin --Kara Patterson (open)

Hammer--Kimery Hern

No comments:

Blog Archive