Monday, November 15, 2010

USTFCCCA announces All-Region Recipients...

NEW ORLEANS--Justin Englund (left/photo by Paul Merca) of Washington State, along with Katie Flood, Justine Johnson, Christine Babcock, Mel Lawrence, and Kailey Campbell from the University of Washington women’s cross country team that won last week’s NCAA Western Regional championship race in Springfield, Oregon, were selected to the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All Region team Monday.

Athletes of schools that are members of the USTFCCCA were selected based on a top-25 finish at one of the nine NCAA Regional championship meets held throughout the country last Saturday.

In reviewing the results from the NCAA West Regionals, it’s noted that Kyle King of Eastern Washington, who finished 19th, did not receive the USTFCCCA regional award.

An email from USTFCCCA spokesman Tom Lewis said that King was omitted because Eastern Washington is currently not a member of the organization.

Indiana State University will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on November 22, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The women’s race will begin at approximately 12:08 p.m. Eastern, followed by the men’s race at approximately 12:48 p.m.

A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from noon to 1:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, November 22, on In addition, highlights from the championships will be included as part of the CBS NCAA Fall Seasonal Show scheduled to air on Saturday, December 18 from 1:00 to 2:00 p.m. Eastern time on CBS HD.

The USTFCCCA release, along with the names of the recipients, can be viewed here.

In other news from the USTFCCCA, the standards for the 2011 NCAA Division I indoor championship meet was released last week.

The most significant change is that there are no provisional qualifying marks for the meet; all automatic qualifiers will get entry into the meet, with the rest of the field being filled in descending order from marks submitted to

Standards for the D1 indoor championships can be viewed here.

In Division III, Whitworth’s men’s and women’s cross country teams will compete in Saturday’s NCAA D3 Championships in Waverly, Iowa, hosted by Wartburg College, starting at 11 am eastern time with the men’s race, and the women following an hour later.

Additionally, Robin Harkins of Puget Sound in Tacoma will compete in the men’s race as an automatic individual qualifier.

The field for the NCAA D3 Championships can be viewed here.

No comments:

Blog Archive