Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Kara Patterson, Ginnie Crawford & Bernard Lagat set for Aviva London GP meet...

LONDON, England--The final Samsung Diamond League meeting before the world championship break occurs Friday and Saturday with the running of the Aviva London Grand Prix at the famed Crystal Palace venue.

Vancouver native Kara Patterson (left/photo by Paul Merca), who has had a disappointing season on the circuit relative to her breakthrough 2010 season, is looking for a strong performance in Friday's javelin and create some momentum going into the world championships in Daegu, South Korea, which begins on August 27th.

Patterson, the four-time US national champ, will face a field that includes Germany's Christina Obergfoll and Olympic champ Barbora Spotakova from the Czech Republic.

Former University of Washington standout Ingvill Måkestad drops down in distance to 800 meters, as she faces Samsung Diamond League leader Kenia Sinclair of Jamaica, and Jenny Meadows of Great Britain.

On Saturday, Rainier Beach HS grad Ginnie Crawford competes in one of two heats of the women's 100 meter hurdles against a field that includes the likes of Americans Danielle Carruthers and Nia Ali, Australia's Sally Pearson, and emerging Canadian star Phylicia George, with a final later on in the meet.

In what's expected to be his final tune-up before the championships in Daegu, Washington State alum Bernard Lagat will run the mile against Great Britain's Andrew Baddeley, 2008 US Olympic teammates Leo Manzano and Lopez Lomong, and Olympic silver medalist Nick Willis from New Zealand.

The start lists for the Aviva London Grand Prix at Crystal Palace are available here.

With the final Team USA roster for the world championships in Daegu expected to be announced on Tuesday, August 9th, one name that will be missing is former world and Olympic champion Jeremy Wariner, who is out with a torn ligament in the second toe of his left foot.

Wariner's spot is expected to go to fourth-place finisher Jamaal Torrence, who nosed out Rainier Beach HS grad and Oregon freshman Michael Berry. Berry, who was announced by USATF as a member of the initial relay pool for Daegu, will wait until Tuesday to find out if he will travel with the squad to Korea.

The USTFCCCA announced that Washington's Scott Roth was named one of four Division I Scholar Athletes of the Year for the 2011 men's track & field seasons.

Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest in individual events at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Roth's award was for the indoor season, where the USTFCCCA named him its Field Scholar athlete of the year.

Additionally, Jordan Arakawa, Kyle King, Brad Wall and Kurt Williams of Eastern Washington; Gig Harbor's Miles Unterreiner from Stanford; Centralia's Jordan Stray from Oregon; Jeremy Taiwo and Ryan Vu of the University of Washington; and, Andrew Gonzales of Washington State University, were all named Academic All-Americans by the USTFCCCA.

The women's list will be released Thursday.

The USTFCCCA release is available here.

NOTE:  The Samsung Diamond League, USA Track & Field, and the USTFCCCA contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive