Tuesday, February 27, 2018

NCAA announces accepted entries into next week's Division I and II indoor championship meet...

INDIANAPOLIS—The NCAA announced the participants that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Divisions I and II Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track & Field Championships.

The Division I championships will be held March 9th & 10th in College Station, Texas, and hosted by Texas A&M, while the Division II championships will be held on the same two days in Pittsburg, Kansas, hosted by Pittsburg State University.


The University of Washington’s entries include Colby Gilbert in the men’s 3000; Amy-Eloise Neale in the women’s 3000; and, Chase Smith (left/photo by Paul Merca) in the men’s pole vault.

Washington State’s lone entrant is Alissa Brooks-Johnson in the pentathlon.  Spokane native Tanner Anderson of the University of Oregon will compete in the men’s 5000.

One notable name missing among the entries is the University of Washington’s Jack Lembcke in the men’s shot put, whose mark of 63-10-.5 (19.47m) this season would have put him 12th on the accepted entry list.


Seattle Pacific’s late run at its Last Chance meet at the Dempsey on February 24th was good enough to get the Falcons into the big dance in Kansas in the distance medley relay.

Besides the team of Kate Lilly (1200), Lani Taylor (400), Chynna Phan (800), and Mary Charleson (1600), Scout Cai will contest both the pentathlon and pole vault.

Central Washington, which tied the Falcons for the GNAC women’s title two weeks ago, will have Ali Anderson in both the pentathlon and 400; Halle Irvine in the pole vault; HarLee Ortega in the pentathlon; and Mariyah Vongsaveng in the 60 hurdles.

Western Washington’s lone representative will be Jasmine McMullin in the triple jump.

Kodiak Landis is the lone male competing in the meet, as he will contest the heptathlon for Central Washington.

NOTE:  The NCAA contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive