Monday, December 1, 2008

Greg Metcalf named 2008 Division I USTFCCCA National Cross Country Coach of the Year...

NEW ORLEANS – Oregon’s Vin Lananna and Washington’s Greg Metcalf (left/photo by Paul Merca) picked up more cross country coaching honors on Monday as the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced the Division I Cross Country National Athlete and Coach of the Year honors.

After the most impressive season in school history, Washington Huskies head coach Greg Metcalf, was named the Division I Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year. His Huskies capped an undefeated season in 2008 by winning the Division I Cross Country title. Metcalf’s program finished eighth a year ago, which was the best finish for the Husky women at the time, before winning this year’s title, Washington’s first cross country championship. The Huskies dominated the meets they competed in this season. The women posted a perfect 15 points at the Pac-10 Conference Championships and scored 25 team points to win the West Regional title in November. Metcalf was earlier named the Division I Women’s West Region Coach of the Year.

Oregon head coach Vin Lananna was named the Division I Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading his Ducks to their second consecutive team championship. Oregon went undefeated during the season and was ranked No. 1 nationally from the preseason poll through the final standings.

NOTE: The USTFCCCA contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive