Wednesday, March 1, 2017

NCAA announces fields for both Division I and II indoor championships...

INDIANAPOLIS—The NCAA announced the list of accepted competitors for both the Division I and Division II indoor track & field championships Tuesday evening.

The Division I meet will be held March 10th & 11th in College Station, Texas, while the Division II championships will be contested in Birmingham, Alabama.

The University of Washington has four qualifiers for the meet—Amy-Eloise Neale (left/photo by Paul Merca) in the mile, Liz Quick in the pole vault, Colby Gilbert in both the 3000 and 5000, and Chase Smith in the pole vault.

Federal Way native Hannah Cunliffe of the University of Oregon is entered in both the 60 and 200.  Cunliffe recently won the MPSF indoor title at 60 meters, after setting a all-conditions collegiate record in the 60 in Albuquerque a few weeks ago.

Cobert resident John Dressel, who attends the University of Colorado, is entered in the 3000.

In Division II, all four Washington schools will have entries in the championship meet.

Central Washington will send Kodiak Landis (heptathlon) and Luke Plummer (triple jump), along with pole vaulter McKenna Emmert and hurdler Mariyah Vongsaveng.

Saint Martin’s will be represented by high jumper Mikel Smith and distance runner Shannon Porter, who is entered in both the 3000 and 5000.

Seattle Pacific’s entries are Sarah Macdonald, Chynna Phan, Lani Taylor and Mary Charleson in the women’s distance medley relay.  Charleson is also entered in the mile.

Western Washington’s lone entry is pole vaulter Anna Paradee.

NOTE:  The NCAA contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive