Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Three Huskies named to Track & Field News High School All-America team...

Track & Field News selected University of Washington freshmen Sean Krinik (left/photo courtesy dyestat.com), Kasen Covington, and Megan Goethals to its 2010 High School All America team in the magazine’s December issue.

Krinik,out of Valencia High School in Placentia, California, was the national leader in the 800 meter run, and was undefeated in the 2010 outdoor season, running 1:48.20 to win the California state meet, then backed up his win by winning the New Balance Nationals meet, where he faced most of the country’s top prep runners.

In a University of Washington media release earlier this year after Krinik announced his intent to attend the UW, Husky coach Greg Metcalf said, “We needed a middle distance recruit and with Sean we are getting the No. 1 returning half-miler in the country. I think he adds an instant impact in the middle distance events and I'm very excited to follow him…then work with him in the fall.”

Krinik also finished fifth in the magazine’s voting for high school male athlete of the year, as Sam Crouser of Gresham HS in Oregon took the publication’s top honors.

Kasen Covington, out of Capital HS in Boise, was ranked by T&FN as the nation’s number two triple jumper with a best of 50-6 ¾ (15.24m), which was the #7 mark in the country this season. He won his third straight Idaho state 5A title in the event, and finished fourth in the USA junior nationals in Des Moines, Iowa.

UW jumps coach Pat Licari said of Covington, “We haven't had one of those kind of guys for quite a while now. He also jumps right around 24-feet in the long jump so he is going to be a good contributor for us in both the long and triple. He fits in great with our guys and will be a nice teammate for everybody.”

Megan Goethals from Michigan’s Rochester High School, took the #1 ranking in the two mile run, clocking a nation-leading 10:01.16 in winning the New Balance Nationals, which was the sixth fastest prep mark of all time.

Goethals ran in two meets this cross country season for the Huskies—at the Sundodger Invitational, and the Notre Dame Invitational.


Sammy Wanjiru (left/photo by Paul Merca) of Kenya and Liliya Shobukhova of Russia were crowned champions of the 2009-2010 World Marathon Majors series at a press conference in New York Monday, and both were presented $500,000 USD for their respective accomplishments.

Wanjiru accumulated 75 points over the two-year series with a win at the 2009 Virgin London Marathon and back-to-back victories at the 2009 and 2010 Bank of America Chicago Marathons. Wanjiru also won the 2008-2009 WMM series.

Shobukhova tallied 85 points over the past two years with a pair of victories at the 2009 and 2010 Chicago Marathons, a victory at the 2010 London Marathon and a third-place finish at the same event in 2009.

“Last year I promised I would be back here to defend my World Marathon Majors title and I’m proud to have fulfilled that promise,” said Wanjiru. “Being the Olympic Marathon champion is a dream for everyone, but to win the World Marathon Majors series means that you have to be strong and consistent over two years and I’m happy to have achieved this honor twice.”

Shobukhova has scored WMM points in all four of her career marathons, including victories in her last three. She unseated Germany’s Irina Mikitenko, victor of the last two WMM series.

“I want to thank the race directors and event organizers for the opportunity to compete in the World Marathon Majors,” said Shobukhova. “It is a great idea and serves not as pressure, but as a source of motivation for athletes to compete at their best at the world’s best races. After I won the 2009 Chicago Marathon I knew I had an opportunity to win the series title, and I’m proud to have achieved this goal and I hope to be back next year.”

In the series, which was established in 2006, the world’s top runners score points for top five finishes in the five events that comprise the World Marathon Majors: Virgin London Marathon, B.A.A. Boston Marathon, real,- Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. Athletes also earn World Marathon Major points at the Olympic Games every four years and IAAF World Championships every other year.

To read the full release, please click here.

NOTE:  The World Marathon Majors contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive