Friday, April 28, 2017

Owsinski wins pole vault at OSU High Performance...

CORVALLIS, Oregon—Washington’s Kristina Owsinski (left/photo by Paul Merca) won the pole vault competition at the Oregon State University High Performance meet got underway Friday afternoon at the Whyte Track & Field Center on the OSU campus.

Owsinski, a sixth-year senior for the Huskies and 2015 Pac-12 champion, won with a best of t3-2.5 (4.03m).

Eastern Washington’s Erin Clark and Washington’s Kaitlin Zinsli tied for third at 12-6.75 (3.83m), while reigning Pac-12 champ Liz Quick of Washington failed to clear a height, missing three times at her opening bar of 13-2.5 (4.03m).

Inglemoor HS graduate and first-year post-collegian Tansey Lystad, competing in her first steeplechase since graduating from the University of Portland, finished second in that event 

Lystad ran 10:13.25, as Utah’s Grayson Murphy won in a facility record 10:05.77.

In the men’s 3000 steeple, Washington’s Julius Diehr was third in 9:14.84, while Eastern Washington’s Steaven Zachman was fourth in 9:17.72.  Colorado’s Zach Perrin won in 9:07.45.

The women’s 5000 saw Washington’s Katie Knight finish fourth in 16:13.44, while Eastern Washington’s Sarah Reiter was seventh in 16:21.50. Former Oregon State standout Kinsey Gomez of Skechers won in 15:52.79.

In Des Moines, Iowa, Camas’ Alexa Efraimson finished sixth in the women’s invitational 1500 meters at the Drake Relays Friday.

Efraimson ran 4:17.54, as 2016 Olympic bronze medalist Jenny Simpson took the win in 4:16.10.  

Hannah Fields of the Brooks Beasts was 13th in 4:19.83.

Washington alum Diamara Planell Cruz did not clear the opening height of 13-11.25 (4.25m) in the invitational pole vault. Sandi Morris, the reigning Olympic silver medalist, won at 15-5.75 (4.72m).

NOTE:  Oregon State University and the Drake Relays contributed to this report.

No comments:

Blog Archive